Why I changed my blog name + Recap

Hey guys!

I know it has been a while. Things have been super busy lately. More on that later! So I wanted to explain why I changed my blog name. My former blog name was “RD2be2016.”

Reason #1: As of November, I passed the RD exam. No longer an RD2be! I still remember that feeling and that it was the best feeling ever to be able to introduce myself as the dietitian to my patients/clients. I was talking to my mom yesterday about this and how I think I now take it for granted which I should not do. It was a LONG path to become a RD and I feel super blessed to be where God has me right now.

Reason #2: I chose the name because tacos hold a special place in my heart LOL. No, but really I do enjoy eating tacos! I love tacos. Definitely one of my favorite foods for sure. Lately I have been seeing memes that say “If I had to choose to eat healthy or tacos, I would choose tacos.” Tacos can be a part of a healthy diet – more on that on this post about intuitive eating. It seriously grinds my gears when I see memes like that. I always tell patients/clients that my boyfriend is Guatemalan and if I could not eat tacos, he would probably break up with me LOL. All foods fit.

matt taco

Here is a picture of my wonderful boyfriend wearing a taco shirt. I love him.

A lot has happened since I last blogged!

I have started a third job as a contract dietitian working with individuals with disabilities at Hopewell Community Services. I do nutrition ed and help make their menus for the week. I really like it so far!

I have started working towards my eating disorder certification through IAEDP. I am so excited for this! 🙂 I have said before that I feel like God has called me to work in eating disorders and sports. I think my dream job would be to work with athletes who struggle with eating disorders. 🙂

Matt came in from Oklahoma and we went to the beach with my family. It went by way too fast but I am so thankful for time spent with him and my family. We will see each other again in September and I am already counting down the days.

matt beach 2

When Matt and I leave each other we both really struggle. I thought it would eventually get easier over time, but I think it has gotten harder because we grow closer the more time we spend together. I always make sure to schedule a few clients the next day after he laves to make sure I keep myself busy. That always helps.

Last week was difficult for me with Matt leaving and some other things happened that did not work out the way that I thought they should.  I won’t go into detail, but I was really upset and disappointed. I know that I need to be still and let God do what He thinks is best, but that is sometimes easier said than done.

Matt is always super helpful in these types of situations. He always reminds me of the positive things in my life. I think it is okay to be upset and really feel your emotions. I am a big believer in really feeling things. I think there’s an issue if you’re not able to feel your emotions and talk about them. However, I also don’t think you should dwell on them either. Matt always asks me to name off the positive things in my life or the things that make me the most joyful. We always pray about the situation too.

I recently read this post about stillness and it really resonated with me. Matt and I read a devotion that was what I needed to hear. Isn’t it the coolest thing that there are so many people on this earth, but God cares about us as individuals and knows what we need when we need it?

Isaiah 26: 3-4 “You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast, because they trust in you. Trust in The Lord, forever, for The Lord  himself, is the rock eternal.”

Well, I am off to do a yoga video before I head to work to see some patients!

I hope you all have a wonderful Monday!

Whit

 

 

Leave a Reply

