Self-care is more than just face masks.

I have blogged about what self-care looks like to me here and talked about a time I was not practicing self-care here. I feel like self-care is a new trend word. However, what does it really mean? I really love Kylie Mitchell’s explanation here and this Ted Talk. I love Ted Talks!

To me, self-care is basically checking yourself before you wreck yourself. Self-care allows you to be more present in life and to better take care of others. When you take care of yourself, you are able to take care of others better. From practicing self-care more regularly, I can now tell when I am in need of it.

I think a misconception with self-care is that movement or exercise is ALWAYS self-care. That’s not always the case. When introducing exercise to a patient at DECC, I always make sure to assess the context of the exercise. Is this joyful movement, or movement that you are doing to control the size/shape of your body? I talk more about healthy movement in this blog. I would say the same thing to someone who does not struggle with an eating disorder. Find movement that you enjoy. Going to the gym 7 days a week is not self-care in my opinion.

What brings you joy? Because if you are running and you hate it that is not going to get you anywhere. Exercise is a stresser. It releases cortisol. It can be a positive stresser or a negative stresser. If you are miserable when you are working out that is a negative stresser. That is not helping your overall stress.

What brings me joy is always changing. I think in different seasons of our lives it will change. Most of my self-care has stayed the same including doing devotionals with Matt, our weekly FaceTime date, and coffee dates with friends. However, movement is different for me lately. I’ve been having knee issues lately which is a really long story that I will not make you read. I’ve had to stop exercising except for doing yoga and foam rolling when I am having a good day. Sometimes that is once a week and I have learned through this process to be okay with that.
I’ve had to learn to give myself grace if my body does change. Truly thankful for Matt and Dr. Luzier at DECC who have talked me through this. I love doing star pose in yoga and something I have heard from a few different instructors is  “What are you serving by being small?” I love that.

Matt and I have talked about that maybe God’s plan was me to have this injury so I can better serve my patients that have to abstain from exercise for treatment. ❤

Another form of self care I have started lately is trying new things. Saturday I attended an Intro to Inversions workshop at Yoga Power. I had never practiced inversions before and it was truly so much fun. I would love to do something like this again.

22222016_1838455116167832_2875119116782040332_nI have talked about using essential oils and soaps in my skin routine before on this blog. I have recently started using Witch Hazel as a toner and it smells so nice. It’s also all natural (I hate saying that term lol) and inexpensive compared to the other ones I have seen. I picked it up at Target. The same day I picked it up, I picked up a knee brace. I felt like I had a little basket of self care. ❤ A knee brace is something Matt has been on me to get while I am in the process of getting approved for a MRI. He was right. It has helped my knee feel a little bit better so far.

I’ve also been loving following along with The Halloween Baking Championship on Food Network. I always watch this with my mom Monday nights. However, this past Monday must have been a long day at work because I fell asleep before it went off. Whoops!

What are your favorite forms of self care?

Have a blessed day!

Whitney

 

 

Leave a Reply

